Skip to content

Xiamen University’s Joint Conference of its European Confucius Institutes in Malta

Xiamen University, located in China’s southeast city of Xiamen in Fujian Province, has launched 13 Confucius Institutes in five continents along with local partners. Six of them are in Europe. These Confucius Institutes are at Cardiff University in the UK, at the University of Malta in Malta, at West Paris-Nanterre-La Défence University in France, at Trier University in Germany, at the University of Wroclaw in Poland, and at the Middle East Technical University in Turkey. 
Recently in Malta, Xiamen University held a two-day inaugural conference with the presidents of the six Confucius Institutes, discussing issues including resource pooling, experience sharing, and areas of joint development. The conference intends to create a platform for inter-institute communication and cooperation. The second joint conference is set to be held at the University of Wroclaw in Poland in 2012.
Source: China News Service, February 28, 2011