Skip to content

China Times: 37 Countries Discontinued Generalized System of Preferences for China

Major Taiwanese news network China Times recently reported that, 37 different countries including Switzerland, the European Union, and Japan have stopped granting the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) to Chinese goods. After they did so, the General Administration of Customs of China issued an announcement to stop issuing GSP certificates of origin (Form A) for the export of goods to the aforementioned 37 countries. The only countries that still retain China’s GSP treatment are Norway, New Zealand and Australia. For goods exported to these three countries, companies can still apply for a GSP certificate. The Generalized System of Preferences is a universal, non-discriminatory, and non-reciprocal preferential tariff system in which developed countries (beneficial countries) grant exports from developing countries (beneficiary countries). It is based on the most-favored-nation tariffs and further provides tariff reductions, exemptions, or even full tax exemptions in order to help the economic development of developing countries.

Source: China Times, November 2, 2021