Skip to content

New Communist Leadership Announced

On November 14, 2012, the Chinese Communist Party published the list of the 205 members of the 18th Party Central Committee, the new leadership for the next five years. According to Xinhua, 2,307 delegates "elected" the new Party Central Committee at the closing session of the 18th National Congress of the Party; the number elected also includes 171 alternate members as well. 
On November 15, the Party announced the Political Bureau of the18th Party Central Committee, which is composed of 25 members, seven of whom are listed on the Standing Committee. They are Xi Jinping, Li Keqiang, Zhang Dejiang, Yu Zhengsheng, Liu Yunshan, Wang Qishan, and Zhang Gaoli. Xi Jinping succeeds Hu Jintao as the General Secretary of the Communist Party. He also chairs Central Military Commission, the supreme military policy-making body. Wang Qishan chairs the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection, an agency that is charged with rooting out corruption and malfeasance among party cadres.
Source: Xinhua, November 15, 2012