Skip to content

China News: Top Provincial Leadership Reshuffling Peaked

China News recently reported that, on June 29, the Chinese Communist Party announced the replacement of the provincial top Party secretaries of Jiangxi and Qinghai provinces. Since January, four provinces have had new top Party secretaries. The other two provinces are Henan and Shaanxi. In less than two years’ time, China has changed the top Party secretaries in 12 provinces. In addition to the four mentioned earlier, the rest of the 12 provinces are Shanxi, Jilin, Yunnan, Tianjin, Liaoning, Anhui, Guizhou and Jiangxi. A provincial Party secretary is considered the highest governing official in a province. [Editor’s Note: In China, the governor of a province must be elected. The top provincial Party secretary is appointed by the central committee of the national Communist Party. In reality, the governor typically reports to the top provincial Party secretary.]
Source: China News, June 30, 2016