Skip to content

Pandemic: By March 9, COVID Had Spread to 19 Provinces and Municipalities in China

As of March 9, the COVID-19 pandemic had spread to all four municipalities (Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin, and Chongqing) and 15 provinces.

Both Jilin City and Changchun City in Jilin Province confirmed their cases were the omicron variant. Jilin city has set up three modular hospitals with 1,186 beds to supplement the existing hospitals.

Shanghai has been reporting over 50 cases (both confirmed cases and asymptomatic cases) each day for several days, whereas in the past a city usually only report the infection count in single digits or teens.

Since the Chinese Communist Party is known to hide the infection information, the actual infection number is unknown.

Related postings on Chinascope:

Source: Epoch Times, March 9, 2022